2018's Best Candida Supplements On The Market - (Reviewed Mar. 2018) | Smarter Reviews

Your Guide to the Top Candida Supplements of 2018

We'll show you what to look for and what to avoid when choosing the right candida supplement

Your Guide to the Top Candida Supplements of 2018

Candida is one of the most common causes of fungal infections and when left untreated... can quickly lead to some serious health problems. So it's no surprise that candida overgrowth is rapidly becoming a health concern across the country.

But what exactly is candida? And more importantly, what can we do to prevent, or even stop, an overgrowth before it's too late?

We want to make sure our Smarter Shoppers are educated on this serious public health issue,  so we’ve compiled years of research about candida and its effect on our wellbeing. This quick guide will help you discover everything you need to know to make the most informed decision about your candida supplement needs.

What is candida, and why Is It so dangerous?

Put simply, candida is a fungus, which is a form of yeast, that flourishes in your mouth and your intestines. Don't worry, it's supposed to be there in small amounts. It's actually beneficial – it helps you digest your food and absorb the nutrients you need. 

Problems arise when candida begins overproducing. It can break down intestinal walls and penetrate your bloodstream, often resulting in leaky gut and candidiasis (candida infection).

And unfortunately, this overgrowth can be caused by simple lifestyle factors such as poor diet, stress, high alcohol consumption, and even the overuse of antibiotics. (2)

Top signs of candida overgrowth

Unfortunately, most of us don't even realize that we may be suffering from candida overgrowth. Some of the most common symptoms include: 

  1. Digestive Issues. These include gas, bloating, nausea and cramps. (3)
  2. Sugar Cravings. You find yourself wanting more sweets than usual. (2, 3)
  3. Moodiness. Anxiety, depression, and mood swings are common. (3)
  4. Fatigue. Afternoon sleepiness, or feeling like you didn't get a good night's sleep. (3)
  5. Seasonal allergies. Pollen may not be the only cause of allergies. (3)
  6. Fungal Overgrowth. Especially if topical treatments aren't effective. (3)
  7. Vaginal Discomfort. This is a major sign of candida overgrowth. (2, 3)
  8. Skin Issues. Including itchy rashes in the folds of your skin. (3)

If any of these apply to you, it may be time to consult your doctor and start looking for a high quality candida supplement. Unfortunately, sometimes it's difficult to know where to start, and many of our Smarter Shoppers reported regretting their first candida purchase. With this in mind, we included a section to help you skip their mistakes:

What Not to do when buying a Candida Supplement

Forget the Research

Many shoppers believe that it doesn't matter which candida supplement they choose. This is not the case. Many of them contain ineffective and potentially harmful additives, such as artificial fillers and colors. Binders, including magnesium stearate, chromium, gelatin, and silicon dioxide, or other infamous additives to avoid.

Rely on Amazon Reviews

Millions of Americans look to Amazon reviews before purchasing their products, but most don’t realize that up to 60% have been paid for. Some disreputable, fly-by-night companies compensate individuals for positive reviews, regardless of whether they've tried the product or not. Risking your health with reviews that are likely false is too dangerous a game to play when you’re choosing an ingestible supplement.

Prioritize Price Over Quality

We found that many lower-priced and generic candida supplements don't contain the right combination of ingredients to fight candida overgrowth. Our Smarter Shoppers had to buy multiple low-priced candida products just to get all the ingredients that they needed. They effectively paid more for the generic brands.

What You Should Look for in a Candida Supplement

Based on our research and feedback from our Smarter Shoppers, these are the things to look for in an exceptional candida supplement:

Formulated by A doctor

It takes specific expertise to create an effective formulation. The right mixture of ingredients and probiotic strains determines the product's quality. Look for real doctors specializing in gut health backing the product.

Clinically Proven Ingredients proven to support fungal & yeast balance 

The right candida supplement will include potent, all-natural ingredients that have been clinically proven to control overgrowth. The best include: Oregano oil, caprylic acid, coconut oil, and aloe vera. (4)

Probiotic Strains 

Supplementing your microbiome with probiotics is key to maintaining the right amount of candida. The bacterial strain clinically shown to help support this balance is lactobacillus acidophilus. Make sure your candida supplement contains this powerful and effective strain. (5)

diGestive Enzymes

Unfortunately, most of the candida supplements we tested didn't contain the right combination of the antifungal ingredients above and digestive enzymes, which help break down yeast cells into waste that our bodies can easily eliminate. Look for ingredients like protease and cellulase, both of which are highly effective yeast-killing enzymes. 

Our specialized ranking system

At Smarter Reviews, we employ a comprehensive evaluation system to analyze and measure the full value of products, by looking at the ingredients, clinical studies, safety, projected effectiveness, return policies, and overall customer satisfaction. This method is known as the Smarter Reviews Ranking System.

Top 5 Candida Supplements of 2018

We've compiled a list of what we've found to be the top five products in 
this category, on the market today.

1. Complete Candida Control 

Total Ranking

647 votes

9.6/10

A+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    9.7/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    9.4/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    9.6/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.3/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    9.8/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • 4 natural herbs
  • 2 digestive enzymes 
  • 18 Billion CFUs of Probiotics
  • No artificial additives
  • Doctor-formulated
  • Third-party tested
  • 90-Day Return Policy 

CONS

  • Due to popularity, sometimes it's on backorder/sold out
The Bottom Line

1MD’s Complete Candida Control and its unique, proprietary formula easily won the #1 spot on our Top 5 list. 

Complete Candida Control was developed by a board-certified MD specializing in gastroenterology. It's the only supplement we found that contains the complete spectrum of treatment we were looking for, at their effective doses: 4 natural herbs, two digestive enzymes, and 18 billion CFUs of the probiotic strain L.Acidophilus.

This was one of the only products that we could verify had no hidden additives, fillers or artificial ingredients. It was also one of the only candida cleanses that was third-party tested. A survey of our Smarter Shoppers found that 1MD's customer service is the top in its class. Our Smarter Shoppers absolutely loved this probiotic blend, and with that in mind, we decided to place Complete Candida Control in our top spot. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn About Our Top Pick

2. ADVANCED CANDIDA CARE

Total Ranking

310 votes

8.9/10

B+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    8.8/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    9.3/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    8.3/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Patented New Zealand Horopito Extract
  • Independently Tested
  • No Artificial Flavors, Colors, or Preservatives

CONS

  • Limited Return Policy*
  • Contains GMOs
  • Not Vegan
  • Unfavorable Customer Feedback on Product Effectiveness*
The Bottom Line

Kolorex's Advanced Candida Care landed at #2 in our Top 5 list because of its main ingredient, a patented liquid extract of New Zealand Horopito (Pseudowintera colorata), a potent, natural antifungal.

It's also noteworthy to mention that their New Zealand Horopito extract comes from plants grown on their farm and they are also independently tested for effectiveness. Where this formula falls short is in its short list of ingredients. We were hoping for a more robust treatment regimen, but we were less than pleased that this formula doesn't include any additional ingredients to aid in restoring balance to the intestinal flora.

Kolorex offers customers a limited money-back guarantee only for New Zealand residents.

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

3. CANDICID FORTE

Total Ranking

328 votes

8.6/10

B-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    8.5/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    8.7/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    8.4/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    8.2/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Natural Antifungals
  • Gluten-Free

CONS

  • Contains Unhealthy Synthetic Fillers & Additives
  • Limited 30-Day Return Policy
The Bottom Line

Candicid Forte contains natural botanical antifungals such as Pau D'Arco Extract, sodium caprylate, berberien sulfate, oregano extract, and cinnamon extract.

Ortho Molecular claims this product may contain one or more of the following additives or fillers; calcium silicate, magnesium stearate, microcrystalline cellulose, and silicon dioxide.

Recommended use of Candicid Forte may be excessive for some users as it is instructed to take 2 capsules three times daily. Ortho Molecular's limited 30-day refund makes it difficult for users to test the effectiveness of the product.*

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

4. Candida Support

Total Ranking

581 votes

7.3/10

C

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    7.7/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    7/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    7.1/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    8.2/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    6.5/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Unique Blend of Antifungals
  • Digestive Enzymes

CONS

  • Only Trace Amounts of Probiotics in Each Serving
  • Limited Refund Policy
  • Contains unhealthy, synthetic fillers
The Bottom Line

aSquared Nutrition's Candida Support supplement fell into our #4 spot on the Top 5 list because their formula includes natural antifungals and digestive enzymes.

However, we were very put-off by the fact that their labeling of probiotics on the bottle is misleading. When we did the math, we realized there are only trace amounts of probiotics in each serving, rendering a key ingredient useless.

aSquared offers users a limited 30-day refund, making it hard for users to truly test the effectiveness of the product. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

5. candida freedom

Total Ranking

576 votes

7.1/10

C-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    7.1/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    6.5/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    6.5/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    8.3/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    7.4/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Promotes Healthy pH balance
  • Helps Restore Gut Lining
  • Gluten-Free

CONS

  • Confusing Return Policy
  • Contains Unhealthy, Synthetic Fillers
  • No Antifungals
The Bottom Line

The main ingredient in Candida Freedom's formula is Bacillus Coagulan, which assists in the pH balance of the small intestines, but the complete absence of antifungals in this product is perplexing to our health editors.

It is stated on Candida Freedom's website that they offer a full refund of the cost of the product, but it's unclear how many days users have to return the product.

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More



Citations

  1. https://www.cdc.gov/fungal/diseases/candidiasis/invasive/statistics.html
  2. http://www.nationalcandidacenter.com/What-Causes-Candida-Yeast-Infection-s/1825.htm
  3. https://www.thecandidadiet.com/candida-symptoms/
  4. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/11855736
  5. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23361033

Back To The Smarter Choice