What Are the 5 Best Spot Correctors On The Market Today? | Smarter Reviews

2017 Dark Spot Corrector Guide

How To Find The Best Dark Spot Corrector and Avoid
Potentially Harmful Ingredients

2017 Dark Spot Corrector Guide

Skin blemishes are one of the biggest skin-related issues out there, and it seems like almost everyone struggles with them. In fact, the problem is so widespread
that the issue alone has spurred a product boom in the skincare industry.

Unfortunately, there are dozens of skincare brands on the market that make false promises and fill products with potentially unhealthy and ineffective additives.1,2

This is why Smarter Reviews set out to pinpoint the ingredients that high-quality dark spot correctors use to support smooth, spotless, even-toned skin. The results were surprising, and we wanted to share what we learned so that you can make the best decision for your own personal skincare needs.

how Exactly do DArk spot correctors work?

Our skin is constantly adapting to new environments, and one of its most important roles is producing melanin. When we expose ourselves to the sun, our skin releases this pigment to protect itself from UV rays. It's a normal and healthy reaction to sun exposure, and generally the more melanin protecting us, the better. 

The usual outcome is a gorgeous, glowing tan, but sometimes this natural UV response can cause excess melanin production on key areas of our skin, which may result in the unwanted appearance of discoloration or dark spots. Unlike freckles, these melanin deposits are less likely to fade away on their own.

This is where spot correctors come in. High-quality correctors typically contain a combination of kojic dipalmitate, vitamin E and vitamin B3. These ingredients work together to maintain smoothness, promote hydration, and help brighten
your overall complexion to make your skin look youthful and flawless.

Ingredients to look for / additives to avoid

  •  Vitamin E
  •  Vitamin B3 (Niacinamide)
  •  Kojic Dipalmitate
  •  Glycerine
  • Sulfates 
  • Artificial colors and fragrances
  • Heavy mineral oils 
  • Hydroquinone 
  • The dangers of hydroquinone

    This popular ingredient is famous for its ability to quickly and effectively fade dark spots, but it  can actually be more harmful than helpful. In fact, hydroquinone is banned and illegal in every country except the U.S.

What to look for in a Dark spot corrector

 Finding a skin brightener with the ingredients listed above is important, but there are some other factors we recommend considering as you shop:  

Transparent list of ingredients 

Many popular spot correctors on the market fail to list all of their ingredients on their labels. This means that you might be using a product with potentially harmful or unwanted chemicals. Look for a brand that isn’t afraid to list all of its active ingredients clearly on both its product label and its website. 

Quality moisturization 

Properly hydrated skin is key to a clear, even tone. Studies suggest that hydration helps maintain the skin’s barrier and promote regular melanin production. To get the best bang for your buck, look for a spot corrector that doesn’t just help brighten your complexion, but helps moisturizes skin, too.3

money-back guarantee 

Americans spend millions of dollars every year for youthful skin, and they still find themselves unhappy with an apparent lack of results. It’s better—and safer—to invest in a product that offers a 100% money-back, no-questions-asked guarantee to show the company's faith in the potency of its product.

Exceptional reviews

It's essential to review customer feedback from multiple places. Try asking friends and family for their input, and then check reviews from online marketplaces. The best products usually have overwhelmingly positive reviews  on multiple platforms. 

Our unique ranking system

At Smarter Reviews, we employ a comprehensive evaluation system to analyze and measure the full value of products, by looking at the ingredients, safety, projected effectiveness, return policies, and overall customer satisfaction. This method is known as the Smarter Reviews Ranking System.

In addition to ranking products, we also collect research from the latest studies and clinical trials. Choosing the best product is easy with Smarter Reviews. We offer a clear-cut system that covers the most important criteria, and takes into account the experienced personal reviews of our valued Smarter Shoppers. We've taken the guesswork out of the process, so you can shop smart, and save on time and money.

THE 5 BEST Skin Correctors ON THE MARKET

Based on our own extensive research, the metrics provided by our Smarter Reviews Ranking System, and consideration of numerous reviews by Smarter Shoppers just like you, we've compiled a list of what we've found to be the top five products
to help promote the appearance of flawless, smooth, even-toned skin.

1. Skin-Brightening Spot Corrector


Total Ranking

276 votes

9.6/10

A

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.2 Avg.

    9.5/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.5 Avg.

    9.7/10

  • Value
    8.5 Avg.

    9.6/10

  • Return Policy
    8.7 Avg.

    9.5/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    9.7/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Natural nutrients that help hydrate dry skin
  • Clear list of ingredients
  • Noticeable results
  • Vitamin B3 and kojic acid for youthful skin
  • No sulfates, fillers, or synthetic components
  • 30-day, risk-free, money-back guarantee

CONS

  • New on the market
The Bottom Line

The Skin-Brightening Spot Corrector by Simple Beauty ranks #1 on our exclusive list of top five skin correctors. Simple Beauty's corrector delivers potent skin conditioners to both help maintain hydration and support an even-toned complexion.

The Skin-Brightening Spot Corrector is formulated with vitamin B3, Tocopheryl acetate, and Kojic dipalmitate to ensure results for UV-exposed skin.

Simple Beauty's risk-free return policy includes a 30-day, no-questions-asked guarantee. It may not be needed, however, as the effectiveness of the product earned a top score. The Skin-Brightening Spot Corrector by Simple Beauty is by far our #1 top pick. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

I Want the Smarter Choice

2. Le Blanc Intensive Night Brightening Treatment


Total Ranking

367 votes

9.2/10

A-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.2 Avg.

    8.9/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.5 Avg.

    9.4/10

  • Value
    8.5 Avg.

    8.8/10

  • Return Policy
    8.7 Avg.

    9.2/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    9.5/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Noticeable results
  • Well-known name brand
  • Includes a unique brightening ingredient
  • Decent return policy

CONS

  • Product is frequently unavailable
  • It's extremely expensive
The Bottom Line

Chanel's Le Blanc Intensive Night Brightening Treatment is our #2 pick on our top five skin corrector list. Chanel is a very well-known and proven brand, but its Intensive Night Brightening Treatment is frequently unavailable to purchase online. Smarter Shoppers did, however, experience potent results. Their active ingredient, transexamic acid (TXCTM), is a unique additive that promises a noticeably even tone in just 28 nights of use. The return policy was good, but the treatment itself is extremely expensive, and may need to be used repeatedly to gain any consistent results. For those reasons, Chanel landed in the #2 spot.*

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

3. Advanced Pigment Corrector



Total Ranking

364 votes

8.8/10

B+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.2 Avg.

    8.5/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.5 Avg.

    8.9/10

  • Value
    8.5 Avg.

    8.1/10

  • Return Policy
    8.7 Avg.

    9.5/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    8.7/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Formulated for all    skin types
  • Noticeable results
  • Great return policy and customer service

CONS

  • Customers had  to make multiple purchases to see results
  • Expensive for the amount of product    you receive
  • Contains few natural ingredients for skin
  • Inconsistent reviews
The Bottom Line

The Advanced Pigment Corrector by Skinceuticals came in at #3 on our list of top five spot correctors. Though the 90-day return policy was wonderful, there were a few downsides to purchasing this spot corrector. One of the biggest complaints was the price of the product. At one fluid ounce, the corrector was too expensive for the amount offered. A few customers ran out of the corrector and needed to repurchase before they saw their results. Though it's a relatively effective product, the Advanced Pigment Corrector by Skinceuticals earns the #3 pick for its high price, small tube size and inconsistent reviews.* 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

4. Rapid age spot and pigment     Lightening Serum


Total Ranking

367 votes

8.4/10

B

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.2 Avg.

    7.2/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.5 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Value
    8.5 Avg.

    8.5/10

  • Return Policy
    8.7 Avg.

    8.7/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    8.5/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Fast results
  • Good return policy

CONS

  • Contains hydroquinone
  • Formulated with other synthetic additives
  • Sticky texture
The Bottom Line

While Murad's Rapid Age Spot and Pigment Lightening Serum is popular among our Smarter Shoppers, it does contain hydroquinone, a potentially unsafe ingredient. We ultimately decided to include Rapid Age Spot and Pigment Lightening Serum on our list because it's a potent formula that may act faster than others, but at a possible price to your skin's health. Our Smarter Shoppers also felt that this was a relatively more cost-effective item, so buyers on a budget might be willing to take the chance. Despite its active ingredient, we decided to take our Smarter Shoppers word for it and put Murad's Rapid Age Spot Pigment Lightening Serum in the 4th spot on our list.*

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

5. Vinoperfect Radiance Serum



Total Ranking

259 votes

8.2/10

B-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.2 Avg.

    8.3/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.5 Avg.

    8.4/10

  • Value
    8.5 Avg.

    8.4/10

  • Return Policy
    8.7 Avg.

    7.8/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    8.1/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10


PROS

  • Oil-free
  • Formulated without parabens and sulfates

CONS

  • Doesn't contain ingredients that can help block melanin
  • Expensive for the amount of product    you receive
  • Uncomfortable texture
The Bottom Line

We put Vinoperfect Radiance Serum by Caudalie at #5 on our list of top five spot correctors. This serum is oil-free and contains natural, high-quality ingredients, but few of these additives have been shown to effectively produce the flawless results our Smarter Shoppers are looking for. This was also another product that cost a lot for the amount, and some customers complained about its texture. Compared to the other products we reviewed, however, the Vinoperfect Radiance Serum by Caudalie definitely deserves to round out our list at a solid #5.*

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

Citations

  1. American Academy of Dermatology. https://www.aad.org/media/news-releases/dermatologist-shines-light-on-natural-ingredients-used-in-new-topical-treatments-for-hyperpigmentation
  2. Oregon State University Linus Pauling Institute Micronutrient Information Center http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/health-disease/skin-health/vitamin-E
  3. US National Library Of Medicine, National Institutes of Health. Short, RW. Department of Dermatology, Malcolm Grow Medical Center, MD, USA. 2007 Jan;32(1):88-90. Epub 2006 Nov 27. PMID:17137484. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17137484

Back to the Smarter Choice