What Are the 5 Best Phytoceramide Supplements on the Market Today? | Smarter Reviews

What Are the 5 Best Phytoceramide Supplements on the Market Today?

5 Things You Need to Know to Find the Best Age-Defying Products

What Are the 5 Best Phytoceramide Supplements on the Market Today?

At Smarter Reviews, we employ a comprehensive evaluation system to analyze and measure the full value of products, by looking at the ingredients, safety, projected effectiveness, return policies, and overall customer satisfaction. This method is known as the Smarter Reviews Ranking System.

In addition to ranking products, we also collect research from the latest studies and clinical trials. Choosing the best product is easy with Smarter Reviews. We offer a clear-cut system that covers the most important criteria, and takes into account the experienced personal reviews of our valued Smarter Shoppers. We've taken the guesswork out of the process, so you can shop smart, and save on time and money.

How Aging Affects The Skin

Our skin is the largest organ in our body and one of the most important to support. As we age, our skin becomes a very noticeable area where changes may be seen.

There are environmental factors that can affect the aging process—referred to as extrinsic aging. Extrinsic aging includes ultra-violet light, cigarette smoke, and air pollution. While we are still young, the visible appearance of extrinsic aging isn't
as noticeable because our natural defenses are still being produced internally.

In addition to extrinsic aging, there are also many internal physiological factors that can affect the overall appearance and feeling of our skin. Intrinsic aging refers to declining production of the proteins and lipids that keep our skin looking young.  

What Are Phytoceramides?

Along with a collagen and elastin decline, the production of ceramides—which are vital natural lipids—can begin to slow down. For most people, this is undesirable.

To offset this very natural decline in production of ceramide, collagen, and elastin, many high-end skin care companies are beginning to offer premium supplements that contain phytoceramides and antioxidants. Phytoceramides are the plant-derived equivalent of the natural lipids which seek to replicate benefits to the skin.

4 Key antioxidant vitamins for younger-looking skin

  •  Vitamin A
  •  Vitamin C
  •  Vitamin D
  •  Vitamin E

Using natural ingredients that seek to replicate what our skin's natural defenses do is a great way to make sure that you aren't introducing potentially dangerous or toxic ingredients anywhere near your skin. Natural ingredients are essential.

These ingredients possess age-defying elements that may help treat or reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles—a fact supported by several clinical studies.

Taking a supplement that pairs phytoceramides with antioxidants is the best,
most natural way to help promote healthy, firm, and youthful-looking skin.

Rice vs. Wheat: How To Choose The Best Phytoceramides

Once you start searching for phytoceramide supplements, you will notice a clear distinction between rice and wheat-based products—one better than the other.

Wheat-based phytoceramides are the most common option on the market today. An independent study in Japan—where phytoceramides have been researched for centuries—was conducted to determine the effectiveness of rice vs. wheat-based supplements. The study showed that rice-based phytoceramides were more effective than wheat-based phytoceramides in promoting youthful skin.1

While rice-based options have been clinically proven to be more effective, there are other factors to consider when choosing a quality phytoceramide supplement.

5 Key Things to look for in the best Phytoceramides 

When choosing a new skin care product, it's important to keep the following five key tips in mind. Try to look for a product that meets all five criteria.

clinically-proven ingredients

Many companies opt for generic ingredients that aren't backed by data. Look for patented ingredients that are clinically proven to provide helpful results.

Natural Ingredients

A high-quality skin care product is comprised of purely natural ingredients.  
Some artificial ingredients can be linked to toxic concentrations in the body.

strong antioxidants

Antioxidants in skin care can limit the production of free radicals which, if
supported, can help defend and promote the overall health of skin cells.

no fillers or binders

Make sure your chosen product doesn't contain any fillers or binders. These ingredients are added for bulk and texture, but they offer no benefits at all

gluten-free servings

Gluten is often used as a binding agent in cosmetics, so to be safe and avoid inadvertent reactions, it's best to look for products that don't contain gluten.


THE 5 BEST phytoceramide Supplements ON THE MARKET

Based on our own extensive research, the metrics provided by our Smarter Reviews Ranking System, and consideration of numerous reviews by Smarter Shoppers just like you, we have compiled a list of what we've found to be the top five products
in 
the phytoceramides supplement category, available on the market today.

1. phytocera PhytoCeramides

Total Ranking

214 votes

9.6/10

A

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.6 Avg.

    9.7/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.7 Avg.

    9.5/10

  • Value
    8.7 Avg.

    9.6/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.7/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    9.5/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Clinically-proven Ceramide-PCD®
  • Natural ingredients
  • Powerful formulation
  • Rice-based ceramides
  • Vitamins A, C, D and E
  • No binders, fillers, or synthetic components
  • 90-day, unconditional 
    money-back guarantee

CONS

  • Relatively small bottle
  • Sometimes out of stock
    due to limited inventory
The Bottom Line

PhytoCera by La Muse ranks #1 on our exclusive list of top five phytoceramide supplements. As the premium skin care product in La Muse's superior series of natural oil and health-supporting products, PhytoCera delivers a natural, gluten and soy-free
formula that helped our Smarter Shoppers report both high levels of customer satisfaction and verifiable results that they could believe in.

La Muse PhytoCera is formulated with patented rice-based, Ceramide-PCD®, along with Vitamins A, C, D and E to help promote tight and smooth-looking skin while also hydrating skin layers. They also have a solid 90-day return policy, that shows they stand behind their products. Earning top marks in the categories of effectiveness and customer satisfaction, PhytoCera is our #1.*


*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More >>

2. Phytoceramides  skin hydration with lipowheat®


Total Ranking

161 votes

9.1/10

A-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.6 Avg.

    8.9/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.7 Avg.

    9/10

  • Value
    8.7 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.4/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    9/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Decent 350 mg servings
  • 90-day return policy

CONS

  • Wheat, not rice-based
  • Contained unnecessary additives and fillers
  • Some didn't see results
The Bottom Line

Sports Research Phytoceramides Skin Hydration Supplement is our #2 pick on our list of top five phytoceramides supplements, for a variety of key reasons. It is GMO-free, and had a lot of positive customer feedback, but its wheat-based formula produced widely differing results. Some Smarter Shoppers reported that they saw no results at
all. The 90-day return policy is strong, but the LipoWheat® base has been found to deliver less optimal results than a rice-based formula does
in multiple studies. For these key reasons, Sports Research Phytoceramides landed in our #2 spot.*

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

3. Derma Phytoceramides


Revitol Derma Phytoceramide Capsules, Moisturizng Formula, Supports Softer and Smoother Skin - 1 Bottle

Total Ranking

218 votes

8.8/10

B+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.6 Avg.

    8.5/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.7 Avg.

    8.8/10

  • Value
    8.7 Avg.

    9/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    8.9/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    8.7/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Easy to take, once-a-day serving sizes
  • Solid 350 mg servings

CONS

  • Contains multiple binders and fillers
  • Inconsistent results
  • Contains no natural antioxidants for skin
  • Some users experienced varying stomach issues
The Bottom Line

Revitol’s Derma Phytoceramides comes in a solid third place, with some Smarter Shoppers swearing by its potency. We were, however, wary of some of its ingredients, specifically because it used wheat and rice-based ingredients. We found that this once-a-day supplement included potentially harmful binders, fillers, and artificial colors.
Another note of caution: some reviewers cited various stomach issues. While these facts are all 
of concern to us, we couldn’t help but notice the overwhelming amount of positive feedback other Smarter Shoppers had regarding beneficial results. Users were generally happy with the return policy and customer service help, so we decided to list Revitol’s Derma Phytoceramides as our #3 pick.

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

4. Hair, Skin & Nails phytoceramides Plus biotin


Phytoceramides Plus Biotin Plus Skin Vitamin A C D E - Plus Collagen & Hyaluronic Acid & Silica - 30 Capsules

Total Ranking

205 votes

8.0/10

B-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.6 Avg.

    8/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.7 Avg.

    8.2/10

  • Value
    8.7 Avg.

    7.9/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    8.1/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    8/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Clinically-proven Ceramide-PCD®
  • Vitamins A, C, D and E
  • Decent return policy

CONS

  • Contains unnecessary binders and fillers
  • Higher price point
  • Low Ceramide-PCD® servings of only 40 mg
  • Artificial added colors
  • Low Vitamin A servings
The Bottom Line

The Phytoceramides Supplement by Dr. Tobias ranked #4 in our top list. We like that it contains four major vitamins, however, it only provided 1/10th the amount of Vitamin A found in our #1 choice. In addition, this option included only a 40 mg serving of ceramides, not the recommended 350 mg which has been researched to be the most effective. The supplement is also formulated with magnesium stearate—a binder that could affect overall health in a negative way. It also includes silicon dioxide as an artificial color. Despite that, many Smarter Shoppers saw the results they were hoping for and left positive reviews. Unfortunately,
some users felt that the price was too high. In the end, Dr. Tobias ranked #4 on our list of top 5 picks.


*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

5. PhytoCeramides


Miracle Phytoceramides, Bottle Dietary supplement Veggie (30 Capsules)

Total Ranking

191 votes

7.9/10

C+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.6 Avg.

    8.1/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.7 Avg.

    7.8/10

  • Value
    8.7 Avg.

    7.9/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    8/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.6 Avg.

    7.9/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Solid 350 mg servings
  • Various positive customer reports

CONS

  • Contains gluten
  • Listed binders and fillers as ingredients
  • Magnesium Stearate
  • Artificial colors added
  • Unclear return policy
The Bottom Line

Miracle Phytoceramides rounded out our list of phytoceramides, landing at #5 on our list. The once-a-day supplement contained the recommended 350 mg serving size of phytoceramideshowever it was unclear from their site if it was wheat or rice-based. While it provided an optimal dose of vitamins, it also contained magnesium stearate which is an unwanted binding ingredient. In addition to the binders, it relied on silicon dioxide as an artificial color additive to improve the appearance of the product. Combined with an unclear return policy, it placed Miracle Phytoceramides at #5 on our list.


*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

Citations

  1. Leal, A. (2013, January 28) <http://dujs.dartmouth.edu/2013/01/why-does-your-skin-age>
  2. Obagi, S. (2005, September 26) <https://www.scientificamerican.com/article/why-does-skin-wrinkle-wit/>
  3. Allemann, L. (2013, September 13) <https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18839043>
  4. <https://www.statista.com/topics/1008/cosmetics-industry/>
  5. Ghumare, N. (2015, May 21) <https://globenewswire.com/news-release/2015/05/21/737992/10135534/en/Anti-aging-Market-is-estimated-to-be-worth-USD-191-7-Billion-Globally-by-2019-Transparency-Market-Research.html> 
  6. Ceramide-PCD <http://www.ceramide-pcd.com/moisturizing.html>

Back to the Smarter Choice

pytocer