Your Guide To The Top Joint Health Supplements Of 2017 | Smarter Reviews

Your Guide To The Top Joint Health Supplements Of 2018

We'll show you what to look for + why Amazon is the worst place for researching supplements

Your Guide To The Top Joint Health Supplements Of 2018

Millions of people across the country have begun looking to natural ways to decrease discomfort and boost their joint health and mobility. Health brands have caught on and begun formulating supplements targeted to the 55 million Americans currently experiencing joint discomfort.1

These supplements generally employ plant extracts that have already been used to promote joint health for thousands of years. Research suggests that these natural extracts can actually be just as effective as their synthetic counterparts.2

Unfortunately, manufacturers have taken advantage of the fact that many of us don’t know what to look for in an all-natural, clinically studied joint health supplement. That's why Smarter Reviews compiled months of research to show you what to look for, what to avoid, and how a quality joint supplement can help transform your health.

You may benefit from A Joint Health Supplement If:

  •  You experience discomfort in your knees, wrists, arms, or back
  •  You've noticed decreased mobility
  • Your hands or feet have started swelling 
  •  You get tired more easily than normal

What Are The Top Ingredients For joint health?

During our research, we discovered that there are key ingredients clinically proven to help support joint wellbeing and boost overall health. They each have their own benefits, but when taken together, they pack a serious punch:

Turmeric Curcumin: This ancient spice is widely loved in medical circles for its ability to support and defend joint, bone, and physical wellness. One important note, however, is that the generic forms found in most mass-market supplements simply don't have the potency and absorption power needed to be effective. Trials of clinically proven curcumin suggest a daily serving size of 350 to 400 mg. If a supplement contains more than this, it suggests that the curcumin is probably not clinically proven and may not work as promised. 

Boswellia: This tree extract helps curb discomfort by moderating our bodies' natural inflammatory responses. It has even been shown to work better than an over-the-counter NSAID medication.4 However, like turmeric curcumin, generic forms may not give you the results you're looking for. Based on clinical trials, target potency for ranged from 250 to 300 mg of boswellia per serving. 

Collagen: It's not only good for your skin, it also helps support your joint structure and overall health. This type of collagen, specifically UC - II ®, is the market leader of supplements targeted toward discomfort and joint mobility. Additionally, 40g of UC - II ® has been shown to be two times more effective than 1500 mg glucosamine and 1200 mg chondroitin, despite their hefty serving sizes

Note About Glucosamine, Chondroitin & MSM


While they're popularly found in joint health supplements, there is no conclusive evidence that any of them directly improve mobility and discomfort.3,5 In fact, you would have to take a lot of them to see even a fraction of the results that you'd experience from the ingredients above. In large serving sizes, Chondroitin has been known to cause uncomfortable side effects like rashes, headaches, and diarrhea. Glucosamine is no better, with clinical trials showing that it's no more effective than a placebo.8 Its effects include upset stomach, fatigue and heartburn. As for MSM, studies found that it can cause liver damage in high doses. 

Clinically studied and safe ingredients are critical for the results you want, but they aren't the only characteristics to look for on a joint health supplement label. There are other key factors we considered while picking out our top five products. 

What You need in A joint health Supplement

Taking all of the healthful plant extracts listed above into consideration, we've boiled down a list of  four key characteristics you should always look for in a joint health supplement. Try to seek out all of these qualities:

The right combination

We wanted to find a supplement that included all of the healthful ingredients mentioned above. Why mix and match, or sacrifice a powerful ingredient altogether, when you can have them all in one simple daily supplement? Unfortunately, it's almost impossible to find boswellia, curcumin and collagen UC - II all together in one product, but we found that it's worth the hunt. 

Powerful Potency

Any supplement that doesn't offer the serving sizes we mentioned above simply won't give you the results you need. This goes for both serving sizes that are lower and higher, as turmeric curcumins with huge serving sizes are usually trying to compensate for a lack of absorption power. 

Doctor-formulated

During our research of hundreds of products, we found that the highest quality, most effective joint health supplements were all formulated by a respected doctor specializing in both nutrition and mobility. 

Clinically Studied Ingredients

It goes without saying—you want ingredients that have been clinically proven to work. Unfortunately, most supplements contain generic and unstudied forms of the ingredients they advertise. Make sure that the label lists ingredients that have been proven effective in clinical studies

TOP 3 THINGS TO AVOID

Generic ingredients 

Too many health brands have been cutting costs by using cheaper, generic ingredients. This is likely why you or someone you know have tried a turmeric curcumin supplement without any results. It's critical to find a supplement with 100% clinically proven ingredients.

Reviews On Amazon

Up to 60% of Amazon reviews are written by individuals paid to leave positive feedback. Risking your health with reviews that are likely false is too dangerous a game to play when you’re choosing an ingestible supplement.

Prioritizing Price Over Quality 

We found that the some brands tended to fall short on potency. Focus on quality ingredients to avoid compromising on your health.

Our specialized ranking system

At Smarter Reviews, we employ a comprehensive evaluation system to analyze and measure the full value of products, by looking at the ingredients, safety, projected effectiveness, return policies, and overall customer satisfaction. This method is known as the Smarter Reviews Ranking System.

THE 5 BEST joint health Supplements ON THE MARKET

Based on our own extensive research, the metrics provided by our Smarter Reviews Ranking System, and consideration of numerous reviews by Smarter Shoppers just like you, we've compiled a list of what we've found to be the top five products in 
this category, on the market today.

1. EASYFLEX

Total Ranking

336 votes

9.7/10

A+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    9.7/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.2 Avg.

    9.7/10

  • Value
    8.3 Avg.

    9.6/10

  • Return Policy
    7.8 Avg.

    9.8/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    7.9 Avg.

    9.5/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Longvida ® Curcumin
  • Collagen UC-II®
  • WokVel ® Boswellia 
  • No binders, fillers, or synthetic ingredients
  • Formulated by a respected doctor
  • 90-day, risk-free, money-back, product guarantee

CONS

  • Out of stock frequently
The Bottom Line

EasyFlex by 1MD ranks #1 in our top five joint health supplements for a variety of reasons—the product delivers a pure, potent serving size of collagen UC-II. Additionally, it contains Longvida® optimized curcumin, which absorbs 285x better than standardized curcumin. Its WokVel® boswellia includes extracts standardized to the natural plant's fingerprints. There are no fillers and all ingredients are 100% natural. It's formulated by a highly respected doctor who specializes in natural nutrition. 

Their return policy was also top of its class—a comprehensive, 90-day, risk-free, money-back guarantee that proved that the company stands behind its products. Our Smarter Shoppers reported  positive results that rivaled any other supplement we found. With all of this in mind, we decided to put EasyFlex by 1MD down as our #1 pick.

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn About Our Top Pick

2. EASE

Total Ranking

214 votes

9.2/10

A-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.3 Avg.

    9.4/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    9.2/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Return Policy
    7.9 Avg.

    9.4/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    7.9 Avg.

    9.1/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Standard 1000 mg daily serving of pure extract
  • Collagen UC-II®
  • Gluten and GMO-free
  • Extremely popular, with positive reviews 

CONS

    • Contains titanium dioxide
    • Low potency per serving
The Bottom Line

Osteobiflex Ease secures the #2 spot in our top five list. Like 1MD, this joint health supplement contains natural boswellia extract and UC Collagen - II. It gets high marks in both product safety and overall effectivenessUnfortunately, the amount per serving of each of these ingredients wasn't as potent as our top pick and didn't include turmeric curcumin on its list of ingredients. Of more concern is the fact it contains titanium dioxide, a filler with potentially harmful side effects. 

Regardless, our Smarter Shoppers loved this product, and the customer service that went along with it. Ease by Osteobiflex truly delivered. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

3. INSTAFLEX 

Total Ranking

263 votes

8.9/10

B+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.3 Avg.

    9.2/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    8.8/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    8.6/10

  • Return Policy
    7.9 Avg.

    9.3/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    7.9 Avg.

    8.4/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Includes potent serving 
  • Doctor-formulated 
  • Good return policy 

CONS

  • Gelatin Capsules
  • Lacks some important ingredients 
The Bottom Line

It wasn't hard to select Instaflex as our #3 most popular and effective joint health supplement. It offers a relatively good serving of both boswellia and turmeric curcumin, but it fails to include UC-II collagen, despite its slightly higher-than-average price. It's mostly natural, although the gelatin capsules have been known to agitate stomach linings. Otherwise, our Smarter Shopper reported positive results with this quality joint health supplement. Paired with a good return policy, Instaflex definitely earns a top spot on our list. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

4. ADVANCED COMPLETE JOINT HEALTH 

Total Ranking

494 votes

8.2/10

B-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.3 Avg.

    8.5/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    8.2/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    8.3/10

  • Return Policy
    7.9 Avg.

    8.2/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    7.9 Avg.

    8/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Includes full suite of potent joint health ingredients 
  • Collagen UC-II®

CONS

  • Includes hyralonic acid  and gelatin 
  • Some customers dissatisfied 
  • Not as powerful curcumin absorption as top pick
The Bottom Line

With an overall B- ranking, Advanced Complete Joint Health by Synodrin is a great joint health supplement, even at #4 in our list. It includes all of the key joint health ingredients, including boswellia, turmeric curcumin and UC - II  undenatured collagen. Unfortunately, its black pepper serving was not as effective as Longvida ® for absorption. Our Smarter Shoppers loved the natural ingredients included in this product, and most reviews reported adequate support in overall joint health and mobility. However, many reviews also stated that they felt nauseous after taking it (likely due to gelatin capsules). Some also didn't notice a difference after months of use. Still, all in all, we found this product to be a worthy option.

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

5. FLEXAMIN

Total Ranking

571 votes

7.9/10

C+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.3 Avg.

    7.3/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    8.6/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    8.1/10

  • Return Policy
    7.9 Avg.

    7.2/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    7.9 Avg.

    8.4/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Includes full suite of necessary joint health ingredients
  • Collagen UC-II®
  • Stellar customer reviews

CONS

    • Contains fillers
    • Extremely expensive compared to other brands in its class 
The Bottom Line

Flexamin by Nature's Valley ranked in our top five list because it contains all of the key ingredients listed above, and customers felt the difference from regular use. However, we also noticed that it contains substantial fillers, including titanium dioxide and magnesium stearate. It's also one of the priciest joint health supplements on the market. With that in mind, we were wary of putting it anywhere above the last spot on our list. Compared to other brands we tested, however, it does deserve an honorable mention.

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

Citations

  1. https://www.cdc.gov/arthritis/data_statistics/arthritis-related-stats.htm
  2. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24002213
  3. https://www.webmd.com/diet/supplement-guide-chondroitin
  4. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4175880/
  5. https://www.webmd.com/vitamins-and-supplements/supplement-guide-glucosamine
  6. http://www.fiercepharma.com/sales-and-marketing/top-10-rheumatoid-arthritis-drugs-2013
  7. http://fitlife.tv/everything-you-need-to-know-about-inflammation/
  8. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/16495392

Back to the Smarter Choice