Which 2017 CoQ10 Supplements Are The Most Effective? | Smarter Reviews

Which 2017 CoQ10 Supplements Are The Most Effective?

We'll show you what to look for and what to avoid when choosing the right CoQ10 supplement

Which 2017 CoQ10 Supplements Are The Most Effective?

CoQ10 supplements are fast becoming the most popular path to whole-body health. These coenzymes can boost immunity, support heart health, and increase energy levels without any major side effects, making it one of the most effective and safest supplemental therapies on the market today. 

But what exactly is CoQ10, and do we really need a supplement for it? More importantly, which products are safe to use, and which should we avoid? 

We’ve compiled months of research about CoQ10 and its profound effect on our wellbeing. This quick guide will help you discover everything you need to know to make the most informed decision about your CoQ10 supplement needs.

What is coq10 and Is Taking A Supplement Beneficial? 

Coenzyme Q10, or CoQ10, is a molecule that our bodies make naturally. It helps every cell in our body create energy, and it also functions as a powerful antioxidant. As a coenzyme, it supports enzymes in their various functions. 

Though you can find CoQ10 in every cell of your body, it's generally more common in organs with higher energy requirements. These include your heart, liver, and kidneys. CoQ10 helps boost energy in these organs, but it's not limited to just that.

This is a short list of what CoQ10 does for our bodies on a daily basis:

CoQ10 Has THe Power To:

Maintain heart health

BOOST ENERGY

Enhance Immunity

Support muscle and bone strength

KEEP BLOOD SUGAR LEVELS STABLE

Enhance blood flow and protect blood vessels

Protect cells from free radicals 

Maintain brain health

Aside from our own naturally occurring CoQ10, we can get small quantities of coenzymes from oily fish, whole grains, and beef heart. Beef heart is a potent source of CoQ10 (113 mcg/g), but it still amounts to less than one serving of a generic supplement.

Ultimately, food sources just don't give us the minimum CoQ10 serving size suggested for real benefits. 

To add to that, our bodies produce less CoQ10 as we age. That's why it's critical to supplement your normal diet with a safe, high-quality CoQ10 product that will deliver the potency you need.

Unfortunately, with so many products to choose from, sometimes it's difficult to know what to look for, and what to avoid. Here are our suggestions: 

What Not to do when buying a CoQ10 Supplement

Forget the Research

Many shoppers believe that it doesn't matter which CoQ10 supplement they choose. This is not the case. Many of them contain ineffective and potentially harmful additives, such as artificial fillers and colors. Binders, including magnesium stearate, chromium, and silicon dioxide, are other infamous additives to avoid.

Rely on Amazon Reviews

Millions of Americans look to Amazon reviews before purchasing their products, but most don’t realize that up to 60% have been paid for. Some disreputable, fly-by-night companies compensate individuals for positive reviews, regardless of whether they've tried the product or not. Risking your health with reviews that are likely false is too dangerous a game to play when you’re choosing an ingestible supplement.

Prioritize Price Over Quality

We found that many generic CoQ10 supplements don't contain the right serving size for optimal results. It's critical to look at ingredients first and price second. Your health is more important than the cost of a product. 

What You Should Look for in a COQ10 Supplement

Based on our research and feedback from our Smarter Shoppers, these are the things to look for in an exceptional CoQ10 supplement. 

Clinically Proven Potency


In clinical studies, the amount of CoQ10 proven to be effective ranges between 200-240 mg per serving. 

Delivered In GEl CAps


Our bodies can't easily absorb tablets composed of powdered CoQ10, so we suggest finding a supplement that delivers your coenzyme inside gel capsules. 

Quality Product Guarantee


You need time to try any product, especially CoQ10. A company that's confident in its CoQ10 will offer, at minimum, a 100% 45-day product guarantee

Ubiquinol vs. Ubiquinone

CoQ10 comes in two forms: ubiquinol, the reduced antioxidant form, and ubiquinone, the oxidized form. One can be processed into the other through either the loss or gain of electrons. 

Some brands claim that supplements containing ubiquinol are better because they provide that direct source of antioxidant power. Their argument is that they "bypass" the process of turning ubiquinone into ubiquinol, however, this isn't necessarily the case. Our bodies can easily convert one form into another on their own. 

The reality is, ubiquinone is the original and more clinically tested form. We found that it has been more thoroughly tested and shows positive long-term effects.

Our research found that ubiquinone is the safer, and more clinically studied choice. 

Our specialized ranking system

At Smarter Reviews, we employ a comprehensive evaluation system to analyze and measure the full value of products, by looking at the ingredients, clinical studies, safety, projected effectiveness, return policies, and overall customer satisfaction. This method is known as the Smarter Reviews Ranking System.

Top 5 CoQ10 Supplements of 2017

We've compiled a list of what we've found to be the top five products in 
this category, on the market today.

1. Coq10 advanced health 

Total Ranking

594 votes

9.5/10

A

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    9.7/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    9.4/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    9.5/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.3/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    9.6/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • 240 mg serving size of ubiquinone
  • Soft Gel Capsules 
  • No artificial additives
  • Made In The US
  • Third-party tested 
  • 90-Day Return Policy 

CONS

  • Due to popularity, sometimes it's on backorder/sold out
The Bottom Line

Healthwise's CoQ10 Advanced Health won the #1 spot on our Top 5 list for a variety of reasons. 

First, CoQ10 Advanced Health contains a potent 240 mg serving size of clinically proven ubiquinone. We verified that it contains no artificial additives or fillers, and was backed by third-party testing. 

A survey of our Smarter Shoppers found that HealthWise's customer service is friendly and knowledgeable. We also checked their return policy and didn't find any worrisome small print. Our Smarter Shoppers absolutely loved this formula, and with that in mind, we placed CoQ10 Advanced Health in our #1 spot. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn About Our Top Pick

2. Ultra CoQ10

Total Ranking

310 votes

8.9/10

B+

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    8.8/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    9.3/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    8.3/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Soft Gel Capsules
  • Contains ubiquinone
  • Great Customer Reviews

CONS

    • Only 100 mg per serving
    • Contains Synthetic Fillers
    • Contains Soy
The Bottom Line

Ultra CoQ10 by Qunol gets great customer reviews, plus it offers soft gel capsules and contains ubiquinone. Their customer service team was knowledgable and answered all our questions. 

Unfortunately, at such a low-potency serving size, paired with synthetic fillers, we were wary of putting Ultra CoQ10 higher than #2 on our list. We also saw that it contained soy, so users with allergies or non-soy diets will need to take note. Other than that, Qunol gets top marks on customer service and user popularity.  All that said, we decided that UltraCoQ10 deserved a respectable 2nd place on our list of top CoQ10 supplements. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

3. CoQ10

Total Ranking

328 votes

8.6/10

B-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    8.5/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    8.7/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    8.4/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    9.1/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    8.2/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS


  • Contains ubiquinone 
  • 200 mg per serving
  • Soft Gels

CONS

  • Contains Unhealthy Synthetic Fillers & Additives
  • Untrustworthy Return Policy
The Bottom Line

NatureMade's CoQ10 is #3 on our list, and for good reason. This popular supplement has some of the best customer reviews on the market.

It contains a potent serving size of 200 mg per serving, offers soft gel capsules and contains ubiquinone, but unfortunately, it does sneak in some additives and fillers that make us nervous about putting it any higher on our list. 

Additionally, NatureMade's return policy is difficult to navigate and untrustworthy. Their site states they will only refund the purchase up to $20.00, but most of their products cost much more. 

Regardless, NatureMade is extremely popular with users and is undeniably effective. Despite the worrisome downsides, we knew we still had to put it on our list. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

4. CoQ10

Total Ranking

581 votes

7.3/10

C

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    7.7/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    7/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    7.1/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    8.2/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    6.5/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Great Customer Reviews
  • Ubiquinone 
  • 100% Natural Ingredients

CONS

    • Limited Refund Policy
    • Powder Capsules
The Bottom Line

We Like Vitamins is a popular brand, and their CoQ10 gets rave user reviews. It also contains ubiquinone and absolutely no additives or fillers. Unfortunately, it does come in powder capsule form, rather than gelatin, so users may not get the same absorption. Many reviewers assumed that its potent 400mg serving size would make up for lack of absorption, but that simply isn't the case. Another drawback is its limited 30-day return policy. Altogether, we decided to put We Like Vitamins CoQ10 at number 4 on our list. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More

5. CoQ10

Total Ranking

576 votes

7.1/10

C-

Overall Grade

  • Ingredient Safety
    8.4 Avg.

    7.1/10

  • Projected Effectiveness
    8.1 Avg.

    6.5/10

  • Value
    8.2 Avg.

    6.5/10

  • Return Policy
    8.8 Avg.

    8.3/10

  • Customer Satisfaction
    8.0 Avg.

    7.4/10

    Vote and Review

Vote and Review

5/10

PROS

  • Soft Gel Capsules
  • Great customer reviews

CONS

    • Only 100 mg per serving 
    • May contain soy 
    • Untrustworthy return policy
The Bottom Line

NOW's CoQ10 is both popular with customers and offers soft gel capsules to safely deliver ubiquinone.   

Unfortunately, at such a low-potency serving size, plus its confusing return policy, we were wary of putting Ultra CoQ10 very high on our list of top 5. Their return policy isn't visible anywhere on their current website. It can only be found on what appears to be an older version of their site, which leads us to wonder if the policy itself is still in effect. All that said, we decided to put NOW's CoQ10 at #5 on our list. 

*Results are based on the Smarter Reviews Ranking System and do not necessarily reflect typical results from the use of these products. Please visit product websites for more information.

Learn More



Citations

  1. https://nccih.nih.gov/health/supplements/coq10
  2. http://www.berkeleywellness.com/supplements/other-supplements/article/can-you-count-coenzyme-q10
  3. http://blog.grasslandbeef.com/bid/89550/CoQ10-Supplements-Eat-Your-Heart-Out
  4. http://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/dietary-factors/coenzyme-Q10
  5. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4112525/
  6. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14695924
  7. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19096117
  8. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2315638/

Back To The Smarter Choice